The Secret History: drawing exercises 

I decided to focus on the first book of my three to generate some initial ideas. The Secret History is a novel about university students studying classics and Greek, and so for my first set of drawings I chose to look at Michaelangelo’s The David.

I drew with ink using my left hand, right hand, paintbrush and the opposite end of the paintbrush. I tried doing continuos line drawings, drawings where I focused on the dark and drawings using as short a line as possible. Spending so long on one image meant I could really explore what it looked like and what I liked about it.

Leave a Reply

