Tove Jansson

I’ve decided that it’s definitely appropriate to work with a grey scale for these covers due to the darkness of the books. My first vision was something very much in the style of Tove Janssons illustrations.

I love how she uses masses of black lines, combined with white space to create such beautifully delicate imagery. I’d love to create three scenes in this style but I realise that this would be very difficult and time consuming (I’d love to try)

I attempted mimicking Janssons use of black line but became very impatient. I moved onto thicker, inkier lines and this was a lot faster but did not have the same delicate beauty.

Leave a Reply

