paper cut / layers

In response to one of my quick cover designs I cut the title and author out of roughly book shaped piece  of paper. I then layered it with my Tove Jansson inspired mark makings, one of my ideas was for the cut out to be the outer case and the pattern to be the under cover, creating two layers.

My tutor thought it would be interesting to hold the paper cut above my image so it creates depth and a shadow rather than laying it flat on top. I tried both and although I do not dislike these designs, I think they’re too simple even for my taste.

This might be something I come back to later on.

Leave a Reply

