pink tea – mango and raspberry

I bought a new mug and discovered the hidden fruit tea at the back of the tea cupboard today so this was bound to happen. Although I did want to look at tea again, I think this time round I was more focussing on the colour pink.

Pink is definitely the most frequent colour used in my work. Pink ink, pink paper, pink pencils, many drained pink muji pens and the mug I bought today is pink too. I was thinking about why this is, and my conclusion is that it draws from my childhood. From the age of four to six, pink was the only colour my parents could get me to wear, which lead to my mum putting a red sock in my white washing on purpose, turning all my white undies and vests pink, making them acceptable. My walls were pink until I was 12 and if there was a choice, I’d chose the pink option. Somewhere along the road I built the idea that I was tough, and boisterous and hardcore: everything that pink is generically not. Only in the last couple of years have I stripped away this connotation, and embraced what I once loved and for so long neglected. It’s a stretch but this is almost definitely why I love and use pink so much now in my work.

Screen Shot 2017-05-09 at 23.27.04.png

Screen Shot 2017-05-09 at 23.25.42 1.png

screenshots from my footage

Leave a Reply

