YAYOI KUSAMA

As I mentioned before, Yayoi Kusama is a subtle, but important inspiration for everything I am doing in the project. I wanted to use visuals to explain my connection, looking at her google image search, there is a strong connection in all the works, as it is all polka dots, but as for content, there’s not really ant connection at all as there’s paintings of flowers and pumpkins and sculptures of tentacles and then paintings of just polka dots. Of course I realise that if I was to search a specific exhibition or project, there would be more of a connection, but my point is that in looking at her work as a whole, you see this fluid repetition of polka dots over a huge period of time.

Although this project was only eight weeks, It is focusing on a topic that I’ve addressed as being repeated in my personal work, and a style that is known to be my own. A google image search of my work from this project would be very pink and very cute. It would be clear that it was all made my me but maybe wouldn’t be clear whether it was from this project for from another, as I’ve chosen to use the style I love and a topic that I address so frequently.

Screen Shot 2017-06-07 at 10.59.31Screen Shot 2017-06-07 at 10.59.41Screen Shot 2017-06-07 at 10.59.49

Leave a Reply

